LVASM celebrates Ally Fraser with Outstanding Young Member Award

The Lehigh Valley ASM Chapter awarded Ally Fraser as this year’s Outstanding Young Member.

Ally graduated from Lehigh University with her B.S (2017) and M.S (2019) in Materials Science and Engineering. She then started her professional career as a metallurgist in Carpenter Technology’s R&D department, focusing mostly on modeling, process enhancement, and
production support. She specializes in project management and failure analysis and uses these methods to improve processes and alloy design. Ally is very active in our chapter’s executive committee, serving as both the Chapter Vice Chairperson and the Materials Camp Chair. Congratulations, Ally!

LVASM Honors Bruce Smith with 2022 Bradley Stoughton Award

The Lehigh Valley Chapter of ASMI established the Bradley Stoughton Award in 1944 to recognize outstanding contributions to the field of engineered materials. Bruce’s award citation is “Recognition for leadership in research, new product development, quality initiatives,
training, and young engineer mentorship in specialty alloy metallurgy and support of Lehigh Valley Chapter of ASM International.”

For more information about the Bradley Stoughton Award and past recipients visit the Awards page.

Dr. Wojciech Misiolek wins William Hunt Eisenman Award

We are proud to announce that our own Lehigh Valley ASM Chapter member, Dr. Wojciech Misiolek, has won this year’s William Hunt Eisenman Award. The award was established in 1960, in memory of a founding member of ASM, and its first and only secretary for 40 years. It recognizes unusual achievements in industry in the practical application of materials science and engineering through production or engineering use. Dr. Misiolek is being specially recognized this year for technology transfer of his engineering science knowledge to industrially relevant materials processing.

Dr. Misiolek is the Chair of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and the Director of the Leowy Institute at Lehigh University, as well as an active member of our executive committee.

Keith Hill to Receive 2018 Allan Ray Putnam Service Award

Please join us in congratulating Keith Hill who has been selected to receive the Allan Ray Putnam Service Award for 2018. The citation reads:

“For exceptional service, duty, and tenure in leadership and governance of the Lehigh Valley Chapter of ASM International and furthering the society’s objectives and goals.”

The Allan Ray Putnam Service Award was established in 1988. It recognizes the exemplary efforts of various outstanding members of ASM International on behalf of the Society to further its objectives and goals. The vitality and success of ASM depends on its members, and their willingness to contribute their time and talents for the good of the Society. The purpose of this award is to recognize those individuals whose contributions have been especially noteworthy and to whom the Society owes a particularly great debt of appreciation.

It is the intent of this award to recognize individuals who have contributed to the Society as a whole or to those individuals who have contributed on a local or chapter basis. Each area of contribution is considered to be of equal critical importance to the Society’s vitality and success.

Allan Ray Putnam was the Managing Director of ASM between 1959 and 1983. He was the Society’s most visible spokesman for these many years and “Mr. ASM” to many, both within and outside the Society. Mr. Putnam’s many unique talents and gifts were apparent to all those who came in contact with him and were of invaluable worth to the Society. His “presence” was such that it lifted and sustained the Society’s image to the World Leadership level with respect to esteem, depth, permanency, and relevancy to the materials technologies. He was, and is, greatly admired and loved by his associates and the Society’s membership.

The award presentation will be made at the ASM Awards Dinner scheduled to take place during MS&T ’18.

Trevor Shellhamer receives 2016 Bradley Stoughton Award


The Lehigh Valley Chapter of ASMI established the Bradley Stoughton Award in 1944. It recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of engineered materials. Trevor’s award citation is “For excellence in foundry metallurgy and for leadership in and dedication to professional metallurgical societies.”  The chapter recognizes his contributions to our society as well as all of his work with AIST, The American Foundrymen’s Society, ASQ, The Lehigh Valley Foundrymen’s Association, as well as others.

For more information about the Bradley Stoughton Award and past recipients visit the Awards page.

Chapter Member Receives Silver Medal Award

Ryan DeaconCongratulations to Dr. Ryan Deacon, DuPont Engineering Research and Technology, for receiving the Silver Medal Award from ASM International at the MS&T 2015 conference in Columbus, OH. Ryan was nominated for the Silver Medal Award for:

“His leadership in the fields of materials characterization, metallography, and microstructural analysis as well as exemplary volunteer service to ASM International and the profession of Materials Science and Engineering.”

Established in 2010, the honor of Silver Medal of the Society is to provide recognition to members who are in mid-career positions (typically 5 to 15 years of experience), for distinguished contributions in the field of materials science and engineering, and the society. The purpose of this award is to recognize leadership at an early stage and encourage individuals to grow, nurture, and further contribute to the growth of the profession, as well as the society.